



# 2025 Sony Open in Hawaii (2nd of 36 FedExCup Regular Season events)

 Honolulu, Oahu, HI
 January 9-12, 2025
 Purse: \$8,700,000 (\$1,566,000)

 Waialae Country Club
 Par/Yards: 35-35—70/7,044
 FedExCup Points: 500 (winner)

Third-Round Notes - Saturday, January 11, 2025

Weather: Partly cloudy and breezy. High of 82. Wind ENE 15-25 mph.

# **Third-Round Leaderboard**

Pos.	Player	R1	R2	R3	Total
1	J.J. Spaun	66	66	65	197 (-13)
T2	Stephan Jaeger	68	68	62	198 (-12)
T2	Eric Cole	64	67	67	198 (-12)
T2	Patrick Fishburn	65	65	68	198 (-12)

#### J.J. Spaun (1<sup>st</sup>/-13)

- Seeks second PGA TOUR win in his 220<sup>th</sup> start (2022 Valero Texas Open)
- 197 equals his low 54-hole score (2022 FedEx St. Jude Championship/T42, 2024 John Deere Classic/T23)
- Leads the field in Strokes Gained: Tee to Green (8.502) and Strokes Gained: Approach the Green (7.159)
- Holds fourth career 54-hole lead/co-lead (1-for-3 to date; 2022 Valero Texas Open)
- Making eighth Sony Open in Hawaii start, with a T12 in 2023 his best finish

### Stephan Jaeger (T2/-12)

- Third-round 62 is the round of the week so far at Waialae Country Club and equals his career-low round on TOUR (2022 Wyndham Championship/R4)
- Has 11 straight rounds in the 60s at the Sony Open and is a collective 33-under during that stretch
- Ten international players (11 wins) have won the Sony Open in Hawaii, most recently Si Woo Kim in 2023
- Seeks second PGA TOUR victory (2024 Texas Children's Houston Open) in his 153<sup>rd</sup> start
- Making his sixth start at the event, with a T18 in 2024 his best finish

## Eric Cole (T2/-12)

- Seeks first PGA TOUR win in 76th start; best finish: 2nd/2023 Cognizant Classic in The Palm Beaches; T2/2023 Baycurrent Classic
- Nine players have recorded their first PGA TOUR victory at the Sony Open in Hawaii (most recent: Russell Henley/2013)
- Making third appearance at the Sony Open in Hawaii, with a T13 in 2024 his best finish

# Patrick Fishburn (T2/-12)

- Seeks first TOUR win in 28<sup>th</sup> start; best finish: 3rd (2024 Barracuda Championship and 2024 Procore Championship)
- Would become the 10<sup>th</sup> player to record his first PGA TOUR victory at the Sony Open in Hawaii (most recent: Russell Henley/2013)
- Cards low 54-hole score (198); previous best: 200 (2024 RSM Classic/T8)
- Leads the field in Strokes Gained: Around the Green (3.561)
- Making Sony Open in Hawaii debut; Russell Henley (2013) is the last winner to win in his debut at the Sony Open

#### **Miscellaneous Notes**

- One year after a playoff loss to Grayson Murray at the Sony Open in Hawaii, **Keegan Bradley** (T5/-11) attempts to become the first player to finish runner-up and then win the same tournament the next year since Robert MacIntyre (2023, 2024 Genesis Scottish Open)
- Harry Hall (T5/-11) leads the field with 19 birdies
- 2013 Sony Open in Hawaii champion **Russell Henley** (T11/-10) looks to become the sixth multiple winner of the event; previous: Hubert Green (1978, 1979), Corey Pavin (1986, 1987), Lanny Wadkins (1988, 1991), Ernie Els (2003, 2004), Jimmy Walker (2014, 2015)

#### Aon Swing 5

- The Sony Open in Hawaii, the second event of the 2025 PGA TOUR Season and first Full-Field event, marks the first opportunity for players to earn FedExCup points towards the Aon Swing 5.
- The Aon Next 10 and Aon Swing 5 are eligibility pathways for players, not already qualified, to play their way into Signature Events via the FedExCup standings.
- The top five players, not otherwise exempt, who earn the most FedExCup points during the Sony Open in Hawaii, The American Express and Farmers Insurance Open will qualify for the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, while the top five players not otherwise exempt who earn the most FedExCup points during those three events and the WM Phoenix Open, will qualify for The Genesis Invitational.
- The Aon Next 10 for the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am and The Genesis Invitational was determined through the 2024 FedExCup Fall standings.
- Projected Aon Swing 5 Leaderboard through the third round:
  - J.J. Spaun (1<sup>st</sup>), Patrick Fishburn (T2), Harry Hall (T5), Lee Hodges (T5), Ryan Gerard (T11), Lucas Glover (T11), Gary Woodland (T11)